AN EXERCISE IN CONTENTMENT, PART 1 – Libraries

13 Feb

Life is peppered with moments of supreme happiness. Living on my own for the first time, I’ve learned to appreciate the simple, solitary things that enrich and ennoble my life- that give me a spring in my step and a glint in my eye. My personal absorption of the world that allows me to relish my independence instead of wallow in loneliness:

1. Having an aisle in the library all to yourself. The air is slighty to definitely musty. There is no one around- the multicolored walls surround you. You don’t have a book in mind- just browsing. You scan each shelf- searching for a spine that catches your eye. You’ve already visited the Jane Austen section- just to look. There are hundreds of Diane Steele books, some Star Trek novelizations, bright pink and green spines that feature sunglasses and flip flops- ‘beach reads’. But amidst all this is Henry James, Chinua Achebe, Ursula Le Guin- the books I’ve picked up, taken a chance on and fallen in love with in the privacy of my own personal library aisle.

5 Responses to “AN EXERCISE IN CONTENTMENT, PART 1 – Libraries”

  1. 13thsongbird February 13, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

    I know the feeling well… this is how I feel every time I go into the main stacks in the library here on campus. :)

  2. mzoobek February 14, 2010 at 7:11 am #

    how did it smell?

  3. 13thsongbird February 14, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

    The way books smell when you’e gt a whole lot of them together, especially when most of them are old and in library bindings: that lovely, musty smell that I’ve started to associate more with what’s in the books than with what they’re made of, which is probably where it actually comes from.
    Another nice thing about the library here is that it’s slightly dim when you’re between the shelves – just how high the shelves are and where the lights are set makes certain rows definitely shadowy, which I love.

  4. Sue Dziubek October 29, 2010 at 6:33 am #

    Mr. Joe would be happy to read this…wonder where he is…?

    • mzoobek October 30, 2010 at 5:22 pm #

      That’s a good question

Leave a Reply

