My Valentine’s Weekend Movie Selections

14 Feb

I decided to get into the spirit of Valentines Day this year by watching some old favorites and discovering some new ones. I can’t help being charmed/tickled/swept away by these classics.

Enjoy!

 

 

West Side Story (1961) “I have not yet learned how to joke that way, I think now I never will.”

Today, the world was just an address
A place for me to live in
No better than all right
But here you are
And what was just a world is a star
Tonight
Good night, good night
Sleep well and when you dream
Dream of me
Tonight.

 


The Lady Eve (1941): You seemed to go way back. I know that isn’t clear but I, I saw you here and at the same time further away, and then still further away and then very small, like converging perspective lines. No, that isn’t it, it’s like, like people following each other in a forest glade. Only way back there you were a little girl with short dresses and your hair falling to your shoulders and a little boy is standing with you holding your hand, and in the middle distance I’m still with you, not holding your hand anymore because it isn’t manly, but wanting to. And then still further, we look terrible, you with your legs like a colt and mine like a calf. What I’m trying to say is, only I’m not a poet, I’m an ophiologist, I’ve always loved you. I mean I’ve never loved anyone but you. I know that sounds dull as a drug store novel, and what I see inside I’ll never be able to cast into words, but that’s what I mean. I wish we were married and on our honeymoon now

I’m usually not one for Valentine’s Day- but this year I felt like getting in the spirit by watching some classic romances.

Gone With The Wind (1939): I’m not asking you to forgive me. I’ll never understand or forgive myself. And if a bullet gets me, so help me, I’ll laugh at myself for being an idiot. There’s one thing I do know… and that is that I love you, Scarlett. In spite of you and me and the whole silly world going to pieces around us, I love you. Because we’re alike. Bad lots, both of us. Selfish and shrewd. But able to look things in the eyes as we call them by their right names.

 No, I don’t think I will kiss you, although you need kissing, badly. That’s what’s wrong with you. You should be kissed and often, and by someone who knows how.

 

An Affair to Remember (1959) “There must be something between us, even if it’s only an ocean”

 

 

Leave a Reply

