AN EXERCISE IN CONTENTMENT, Part 2 – Driving

15 Feb

Life is peppered with moments of supreme happiness. Living on my own for the first time, I’ve learned to appreciate the simple, solitary things that enrich and ennoble my life- that give me a spring in my step and a glint in my eye. My personal absorption of the world that allows me to relish my independence instead of wallow in loneliness:

 

Driving home.Whether it’s NPR or Bob Dylan- radio or music is essential for the drive home. Whether it’s been a day of defeats or of triumphs the drive home never fails to carry with it few moments of emotional processing. The mechanics are second nature by now, requiring focus but without any nervous energy. The highway is stretched before you. You are in control. You decide where to go with the power of acceleration and the smooth fluidity of the steering wheel. You are both coming and going- life is in motion, the road stretches out in front of you.

Leave a Reply

