Quint Buchholz

27 Mar

I discovered the work of Quint Buchholz in a bookstore near the Water Tower in Chicago. They were selling postcard size prints of his work and I immediately fell in love with this print:

BuchBilderBuch

I can’t put my finger on what exactly drew me to this piece. I love the man’s stance here, his feet planted firmly on the ground, mesmerized by the woman in the picture. The barrier between them is both concrete and nonexistant. I want to believe he can run into the picture and embrace her, but I don’t want him to try because I am afraid his outstretched arms will meet with only paper and ink. This piece speaks to the acute misery of our loneliness, but also the beauty and joy of our longing.  I absolutely love it.

Here are a few more of my favorite Buchholz pieces:

Der Augenblick

Dancing on a River

Die Heiterkeit

2 Responses to “Quint Buchholz”

  1. Carly April 7, 2010 at 9:55 pm #

    This is amazing. I love it all.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Quint Buchholz « That Curious Love of Green « Gk68's Blog - July 22, 2010

    […] via Quint Buchholz « That Curious Love of Green. […]

Leave a Reply

