My Love Affair with Colum McCann.

13 Jul

In my lifetime of NPR listening, there have been many stories and interviews that have stuck with me in a very genuine and earnest way. One of these is an interview I heard with Irish author Colum McCann on his book Let the Great World Spin. I had to have heard this interview at least six or seven months ago, but the story has stuck with me. I finally got around to starting the book about a week ago. When I finish I’ll give you my full thoughts and favorite quotes (of which there will be many-McCann writes lyrically, with mouthwatering, pulse-quickening deftness), but for now, a quick preview of the impetus of my interest in the novel. (I’ve included two interviews, the first a link to the NPR interview, the second a similar interview in video format)

http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=120846170

I love the way he talks about the city, the world, the craft of writing. I suppose he speaks the way he writes, with a good measure of grace. Definitely a contemporary writer I plan to keep an eye on.

(Funny enough, the springboard of the novel is Philippe Petit’s tightrope dance between the Twin Towers- the same topic I touched on in a previous post on the documentarty- Man on Wire)

One Response to “My Love Affair with Colum McCann.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Let the Great World Spin, by Colum McCann « That Curious Love of Green - August 19, 2010

    […] I mentioned in a previous post, I am a big fan of Colum McCann. I’ve been wanting to read Let the Great World Spin for a […]

Leave a Reply

