The Princess is Dead

29 Jul

Cinderella has never been my favorite Princess, by a long shot. But, upon discovering that Ilene Woods, more commonly known Cinderella’s singing voice had died this month at the age of 81- I looked her up. Seeing her delicate, graceful decorum- so…Cinderella-like- really helped the earnest, steadfast Cinderella of the movie grow on me. So, I decided I’d take a look at some of the other princesses…

Adriana Caselotti-Snow White… is the cutest thing ever. I love the story about her dad on the phone! This makes Snow White so much more endearing.

Mary Costa-Princess Aurora from Sleeping Beauty- I am a big fan of her voice in the movie-you can hear a hint of Aurora’s speaking voice here still as well…

…also love this awesome duet from the Ed Sullivan show!

Had to include my personal favorite-Belle- Paige O’Hara. (love her bookish spunk)

Jodi Benson-Ariel-The Little Mermaid- Also cute. Her voice has nice character. Fun fact, she was also the voice of the animated Thumbelina.

Lea Salonga- Jasmine- Aladdin- also featured here is Brad Kane (singing voice of Aladdin) who unfortunately emotes like a Backstreet Boy

Judy Kuhn-Pocahontas- I couldn’t find a good video of Judy Kuhn singing a Pocahontas song. So, here is Pocahontas singing about the French Revolution. Also please enjoy the Reagan cameo?

 

2 Responses to “The Princess is Dead”

  1. Annwithane August 2, 2010 at 8:44 pm #

    I love these videos! It’s amazing to see the real women behind my favorite characters :)

  2. Home Jobs August 4, 2010 at 12:10 am #

    Great post, I never knew that.

Leave a Reply

