Home Sweet Apartment and Bon Voyage!

4 Sep

Greetings from Chicago, Illinois

Salutations from the Windy City! Today, I moved into my first real, honest-to-goodness apartment in my kind of town, Chicago, IL. What a step up from dorm life- this apartment was a stroke of luck if I ever had one. It is picture perfect, cozy- yet spacious, and of course comes complete with a lovely roommate! What more could a girl want.

So, after putting kitchen utensils in drawers, lightbulbs in sockets and other such move-in day activities, I finally was able to get down to business decorating my room. Posters, painted canvases (canvi?), plants, pillows (apparently I have a thing for P-words?)- so far so good. I’m still deciding where everything goes- but it’s shaping up quite nicely.

One thing I haven’t quite found a place for yet is my wall calendar- a 16 month vintage travel poster. Now, I love me some vintage anything and I love me some world travel anything. So, it’s perfect. Being more than a few months into 2010, I decided it was time to take a pair of scissors to the thing and make myself a series of tiny (6″ x 10″ish) travel posters. So, in honor of my move in, here’s a taste of my apartment decor with a few of my favorite vintage travel posters (the first three are from the calendar- the rest posters I wish were also in the calendar).

My favorite! This is featured in the center of my carefully constructed bulletin board (a key feature of any good bedroom). I love the colors!

Another French poster- are you noticing a trend? Regardless, this is very Gatsby.

Mmm, ok, this may be my favorite. I want to go to there.

My favorite colors!

Looking good Palestine!

Getting there is half the fun!

As usual, I could go on and on and on…love. it.

4 Responses to “Home Sweet Apartment and Bon Voyage!”

  1. Dr Gary Katz September 4, 2010 at 9:23 pm #

    Thank you So much. Exquisite…so timely…I go to Court to try to get off the ‘no-fly’ list so my 2 kids and I can visit my ailing Mom (88 y o) in Boston. Some Bank put me on the list because of an unpaid amount in 2002. Absurd, but I saw these…my ‘good luck’ charms…as I try to leave the geographical area, described by Mark Twain in 1867, as “Palestine.”
    Much appreciated.. Doc
    Jerusalem,Israel (via Boston)

  2. Carly September 4, 2010 at 11:07 pm #

    yes! I love it all

  3. Susan Dziubek September 5, 2010 at 7:21 am #

    Looking so forward to coming back to visit!

  4. Charles September 5, 2010 at 9:43 pm #

    weekend at Maggie’s just got even better.

Leave a Reply

