Franny and Zooey by JD Salinger

24 Oct

Frankly,  I am conflicted about the work of Mr. JD Salinger. On one hand, I think it might be too angsty for my taste. I tend to not want to be dissatisfied with the world in such a persistent kind of way. On the other hand, having read Catcher in the Rye in high school, I am coming back for more with Franny and Zooey, and I will probably read some more of him. Why? Well, it’s pretty simple. The work is punctuated with moments of such brilliance, that I can’t bear to dismiss Salinger to the ‘dislike’ category (a category that very very few…if any…well-respected authors make it into in my book). For example, from Franny and Zooey,

“God damn it, there isn’t any prayer in any religion in the world that justifies piousness”

“Jesus realized there is no separation from God”

The last few pages in general…hold out for it, because that’s where it’s at. Brilliant.

“There isn’t anyone out there who isn’t Seymour’s fat lady”

…I dig that JD.

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Franny and Zooey by JD Salinger”

  1. creatively put October 28, 2010 at 9:57 am #

    Just wanted to let you know I’m awarding you the “Versatile Blogger Award”! :)

    http://creativelyput.wordpress.com/2010/10/28/tickled-pinkthe-versatile-blogger-award/

  2. mzoobek October 28, 2010 at 3:04 pm #

    Why thank you! I’m honored! Can I ask how you found/chose this blog?

    • creativelyput October 28, 2010 at 10:19 pm #

      You’re welcome and definitely deserve it! :) I found your blog originally when you blogged about your love of Van Gogh. I would have chosen to post the “award” comment on a main page could not, so I just figured the most recent page was the best option. (Hopefully you don’t mind! :) )

      You have a really strong voice and blog about a variety of things as well…so obviously you were a fantastic choice! Congrats!

  3. Andreas Moser March 26, 2011 at 3:59 am #

    And Zooey has provided me with a very good reason to explain why I won’t get married: Why I won’t get married: http://andreasmoser.wordpress.com/2011/03/26/why-dont-you-get-married/

Leave a Reply

