The Versatile Blogger Award

28 Oct

This morning, as I was hastily checking my email as I waited for my art professor to get the projector going, I was pleasantly surprised by a new comment on my latest blog post. Now, a new comment is excitement enough. I love any commentary on… pretty much anything. (Hint: Comment on my posts!) However, this comment was especially exciting as it announced I had won an award! I am flattered to announce that my fellow WordPress blogger at Creatively Put has singled That Curious Love of Green as a new and notable versatile blog! Thank you so much! I am honored! Be sure to check out Creatively Put for some wonderful cartoons drawn by the author as illustrations. I especially like the drawings for this post on Marie Antoinette.

Now apparently, there are conditions to winning this award,
1. thank and link back to the person who gave you the award
2. make a list of things about yourself that nobody else knows
3. pass the award on to other new bloggers whom you’ve recently discovered.

Here are some things about me that you may not know:

1. Mums and hydrangeas are tied for my favorite flowers.

2. I have a long list of baby names picked out- but I won’t be using any of them until I am at least 27

3. I love Peter Pan.

4. I’m ashamed to say, I really like McDonald’s ice cream cones.

5. I really like indie music with folk and jazz influences.

6. When I was little, I had two career aspirations: Ages 8-10 professional soccer player ala Mia Hamm, Ages 11-15 poet/writer. (actually the latter has persisted through the present, with some complicating factors)

7. Every time I see a plane I wonder where it’s going and what my life would be like if I was on it.

8. I tend to accidentally submerge cell phones in water.

9. My childhood nickname is Margarita Conchita Boom Boom. If you know me personally, I think you understand the irony.

10. I’m minoring in French and Comparative Literature. (majoring in International Studies). I guess most of you wouldn’t know that. My class schedule gets me visibly excited.

Whew, I always blank when it comes to ‘About  me’ sections, but I managed to nail down a solid ten. Now, on to the fun part. I love that this award is the gift that keeps on giving. I am pleased to regift this peer-to-peer honor to the following of my favorite bloggers!

1. Delightful- a simply elegant blog with posts to make any dreary day, well, delightful!

http://delightfulbybridget.blogspot.com/

2. Impromptu Ramblings- for those among us who like to see the world through rose-colored glasses, a blog-turned-tumblr full of vintage photographs, dappled sunlight and literary quotes

http://imprompturamblings.tumblr.com/

3. The Sun’s Birthday- Like the two above, a blog that hits the spot after a long day. Intelligent, interesting and just darling posts populate this blog.

http://thesunsbirthday.blogspot.com/

4. Miss Woodhouse Goes to College- A Jane Austen-y blog on the life of a college student double majoring in English and Art History. Splendid!

http://misswoodhousegoestocollege.wordpress.com/

5.Experiences of an Eternal Student- Following the life of a self-proclaimed ‘education-addict’ this blog features everything from photography to knitting and sewing projects to dispatches from a job with Americorps.

http://theeducationaddict.blogspot.com/

Enjoy!

 

 

11 Responses to “The Versatile Blogger Award”

  1. Valarie Johnson October 28, 2010 at 8:50 pm #

    Thanks Maggie! I am honored that you read my blog.

  2. creativelyput October 28, 2010 at 10:23 pm #

    Congrats “That Curious Love of Green” and I can’t wait to read more of what you have to write! I’m so envious of you and your class schedule, what an interesting life you lead! :)

    P.S. How does #8 on your list happen? Just curious and it sounds like there’s quite a funny story behind it!

    • mzoobek October 28, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

      Thank you so much!

      #8-
      a. There was this…guy…in a pool. And, in perhaps my one spontaneous act of girlish insanity, I dived in when he beckoned. Mid dive, I realize, my phone is in my jeans pocket. (as you can imagine post-dive I realize wet jeans are a punishment in and of themselves) I am glad to have gotten that silliness out of my system, but at what cost? Well, precisely the cost of a cell phone.

      b. Water bottle + purse + 1 hour in a gym locker = deceased cell phone

  3. creativelyput October 29, 2010 at 4:30 am #

    Ha ha ha…story ‘a’ is hilarious! LOVE IT! Story ‘b’ is unfortunate! I wonder how the bottle managed to break in the first place?

    Also, your #7 is refreshing! I do that while looking in other people’s cars as well. When you look at the planes, do you often wonder if they’re looking back thinking, “wow, they’re really small, I wonder if they’re staring up here?”

  4. Sue Dziubek October 29, 2010 at 6:26 am #

    I want to add #11 here…

    “I am a great observer of the world and I will call it as I see it-even it is not the mainstream.”

  5. Kelly Hay October 29, 2010 at 8:13 am #

    Congrats on the award … I’m having a fun morning checking out all the award-winning bloggers via Creatively Put!

    • mzoobek October 30, 2010 at 5:22 pm #

      Thanks! Me too!

  6. this4life October 29, 2010 at 11:09 pm #

    Hey, found you on Creativly Puts blog, its funny my child hood nickname is Anita Margarita, because I stuttered a lot as a kid, but Margaret is my first name, also called Maggie. lol- I hated it as kid. Too old a stuffy name for me, and my dad always told me Maggie was the name of his donkey and he nick named me that because I’m stubborn like her… soooo I never really liked my nick name either- lol

    • mzoobek October 30, 2010 at 5:22 pm #

      There is no logical explanation for the Margarita Conchita thing, I think my uncle addressed a package to me as such and it stuck.

      I love the name Margaret/Maggie though- it’s like being able to dress up or dress down an outfit- Margaret fancy and Maggie is fun

  7. Carly November 1, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    wahhh!! I love you!!

  8. Annwithane November 8, 2010 at 11:13 am #

    Thanks, Maggie, I’m honored!
    I love hearing about the things you are learning. You make me think of things I never thought existed!

Leave a Reply

