Adam

30 Oct

Adam is one of those movies I have been wanting to see for a while. I think I saw the preview before (500) Days of Summer in theaters last…summer. First of all, for obvious reasons (i.e. very visual reasons), I have always been a big fan of Hugh Dancy- but this movie piled some respect points onto the already heaping pile of attractive points. His performance is precisely what it should be- not overdone, which is a risk for roles like Adam.

To summarize, Adam is the story of a 29-year-old man (played by Dancy) who has Asperger’s Syndrome, a mild form of highly-functional autism that affects a person’s ability to pick up on social and emotional cues. Adam meets Beth (played by Rose Byrne), a neighbor, and they strike up a friendship that slowly drifts into something more.It deals with the subject sensitively, but honestly. Questions like what is love, what does it mean to love someone romantically and how do we relate do each other are discussed with humor and a refreshing earnestness.

6 Responses to “Adam”

  1. Valarie Johnson October 30, 2010 at 5:15 pm #

    I wanted to see this so much when I saw the preview! But it never seemed to come to theaters, so it’s been waiting on my Netflix to come out on DVD.

    • mzoobek October 30, 2010 at 5:20 pm #

      I got it from Netflix- definitely worth the wait!

  2. creativelyput November 1, 2010 at 5:56 pm #

    It sounds like a really great movie. Asperger’s syndrome is something I think a lot of people don’t know how to deal with and maybe don’t have a lot of patience in trying to understand. This movie sounds like it should be a classic and like it really should have been played in the theaters. Glad to hear this is on Netflix! (We just subscribed last month.)

    • mzoobek November 1, 2010 at 8:14 pm #

      Netflix is generally pretty good about having a good selection of foreign and indie films- so while I think the price is so-so it’s worth it for the range of movies you can get.

  3. Mom November 5, 2010 at 4:00 pm #

    I am going to Netflix straight away. I am going to tell Aunt Jennie about it as well. Sounds so good.

    • mzoobek November 5, 2010 at 5:34 pm #

      If I am home in time I want to watch it with you

Leave a Reply

