Voila! A Mysterious New Look.

13 Nov

As I come up on finals week it seems I’m finding every excuse to do anything other than what I am supposed to be doing- a widespread affliction among students, which I have unfortunately caught. Case in point: the blog. It’s really just new fonts and a new banner, but I think it does wonders. I am especially fond of the new font for the post headings- loving the cursive look.

The banner up top is also new. While I was loathe to part with my lovely green-umbrella-holding Monet woman, situated just-so in my banner, I was feeling the cabin fever so it was out with the old and in with the new.

 

Gustav Klimt is one of my absolute favorite artists. You’ll recognize him from such famous works as ‘The Kiss’ (a poster of which is right behind me as I type this), ‘Tree of Life’ and his interpretive portrait of Adele Bloch-Bauer I. There are all kinds of stories associated with his work, maybe I’ll write up something about him in the near future. For the moment though, look at this beautiful portrait. Of course, I have a curious love of the green background (when I think Klimt I usually think golds and browns, so the green is quite different). This is gorgeous. But wait, it gets even more interesting.

On February 18, 1997, this piece was STOLEN from the Galleria Ricci Oddi in Piacenza, Italy. According to Simon Houpt, author of Museum of the Missing: A History of Art Theft (Now on the reading list),  “Although the painting was stolen February 18, the theft was not discovered until the 22nd. The gallery was closed for renovations and some paintings had been removed, so guards assumed the Klimt had been put in storage. Investigations revealed that the thief climbed onto the roof, opened a skylight, and then used a fishing line to hook the painting off the wall! The frame was found abandoned on the roof.” The painting is estimated to be worth around $4 million. How shocking! The story adds some intrigue to the banner- I almost feel like I should add a, “Have you seen this woman?” tagline.

So, I’m pumped about the new look, but I want to know what you think. Comment below or, choose your poison in this poll:

One Response to “Voila! A Mysterious New Look.”

  1. Georgia November 13, 2010 at 4:12 pm #

    I love the new look and can so identify with doing everything else to avoid doing what needs done! Love the new banner and the story behind the famous painting! How cool would that be to have one of your paintings stolen? (That is, if you painted it!)

Leave a Reply

