Winter Reading List

20 Nov

 

While this is not to suggest that I finished my summer reading list, here are my general plans for the holiday season…

1. Rereading some Harry Potter- this might end up being pushed back to July to help console me as the LAST Potter release comes and goes, but the recent Potter-mania has me longing for those late nights reading by the light in the hallway absolutely wrapped up in a Harry Potter book.

2. The reading list for my Russian Literature in Film Class- a little light reading. I’m hoping the cold Ohio winter will heighten the effect of the Russian masterpieces I’ll be delving into.

3. Finish The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood (I’ve been briefly interrupted by a. Finals and b. Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris

4. Inkdeath by Cornelia Funke- I guess I just missed it- I read the rest of the series when I was younger, and loved it, but must have missed the window on this one.

5. Something by C.S. Lewis besides Narnia (which I also would love to reread…also, The Lord of the Rings. {A note on that note, I am already looking forward to reading the Chronicles of Narnia to my kids before bed.) Suggestions? I’m thinking either Mere Christianity or The Screwtape Letters

That’s probably more than sufficient for six weeks of snowy evenings by the fireside, but while I’m on the subject of books I’d like to read- check out this awesome find I noticed while in line to buy the aforementioned Sedaris book.

Bahh I’m geeking out over this new translation of Madame Bovary. Check out that cover art!! I read a much older translation originally, I wasn’t a huge huge fan (of the translation that is, not the book itself). While rereading at the moment is probably not going to happen, this new version is definitely on my long term list.

On my longer term list? —  Reading it in it’s original French. I’ll get back to you in about a year and a half. Summer Reading List 2012? It just might be a possibility.

2 Responses to “Winter Reading List”

  1. hemlock1981 November 22, 2010 at 10:02 am #

    As fas as C.S. Lewis goes, both are very good books and pretty quick reads…If I had to choose just one of them, I would go with The Screwtape Letters.

  2. Annwithane November 22, 2010 at 8:13 pm #

    For some good C.S. Lewis try “Till We Have Faces”

Leave a Reply

