Neglect and The Secret of Kells

7 Jan

My humblest apologies to anyone who happens to have noticed my longer-than-usual update drought. I’m sure you’re not too worried about it. and if you were agonizing over the lack of book reviews or other vitally necessary tidbit: have no fear! I’m back! I’d like to say I was extraordinarily busy writing a novel, or going on safari or something of that sort, which prevented me from updating. However, to the contrary, for the past month I have done fairly close to nothing on a day to day basis. The only writing I did was the occasional Facebook status update or recipe transcription for shopping lists.  It has been simply splendid. Now, I’m back at school, 100% busier and perhaps counterintuitively, ready to get back to blogging.

Over break I watched many a movie and many an episode of The Office (thank you Netflix instant play on the Wii!!). I won’t share them all, but I will share a favorite.

Ok, the whispery Irish voiceover might creep you out. Justified. Let go of that and be wowed by the beautiful style of this animation. I love the dreamy, Celtic quality of this illuminated film. This is a movie my kids are definitely going to be introduced to in order to fill the void left by the outright ban on Disney Channel, Nickelodean and Cartoon Network that will be unflinchingly enforced in my household. What kid would prefer Hannah Montana to an arty Irish flick? Hopefully my future children, because that’s what they’ll get.

2 Responses to “Neglect and The Secret of Kells”

  1. Emily January 7, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

    “outright ban on Disney Channel, Nickelodean and Cartoon Network that will be unflinchingly enforced in my household”

    Yes!! I am whole-heartedly with you there.

  2. hemlock1981 January 10, 2011 at 8:58 am #

    Nice. Welcome back. I look forward to the more regular postings. :-)

Leave a Reply

