Happy Anniversary!

21 Jan

Happy Blogiversary to Me! I almost forgot, but today marks one year of blogging on That Curious Love of Green! Which, taking into account the number of times I started a journal in relation to the number of times I’ve  filled more than half the pages…is a very encouraging display of commitment. So hooray for me!

I guess what I love about keeping this blog, is whenever I see or read or hear or do something great, I have this automatic outlet where I can share my thoughts and articulate them. Pretending I’m a renegade journalist has also helped keep the spark alive in my blogging relationship.

So, this year. Highlights for me include moving into my first honest-to-goodness apartment in the fabulous city of Chicago where I have continued to study at the fabulous DePaul University, going from zéro to soixante and counting en français since this summer (here’s hoping I get to cent-dix pourcent by September), working on some great projects involving local and fair trade food with Oxfam DePaul and interning with the Chicag0-based fair trade clothing and jewelry company, Greenola Style. As always dinner parties with my beloved best friends, the self-titled, Le Troupe and time spent at my grandmother’s couch, counter and kitchen table have been the best and brightest things in my life.

2010 in Numbers:

Total views: 8,360

Top Post: The Van Gogh You Didn’t Know, July 22

Busiest Day: 1,691 views

Total Posts: 87

Total Comments: 165

I like those numbers just fine, thanks! Let’s round it out to at least a good 100 posts for 2011. And let’s shoot for at least 9,000 page views. Goal, set.

Looking ahead, I’m hoping to blog from Switzerland next year (where I will be studying from September to June!), but I’m not sure whether I should blog about that separately or just throw it all on this all-purpose blog of mine. Regardless, I’m excited to try my hand at some travel writing (not to mention some traveling!)

It’s been a great year. More soon- I just watched a few good movies, and I’ve read some good yet-to-be-blogged about books- so I’ll have to post at least 2 of my cents about that.

3 Responses to “Happy Anniversary!”

  1. Sue Dziubek January 22, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    Felicitations on the anniversaire of your blog! Blogging is an outlet for you. I may just have to try it myself.

  2. creatively put January 22, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    Congratulations on your blog! WOOHOO!!! I can’t believe you get to Switzerland! How amazing is that? Maybe you could do a travel blog in the style of Michael Palin (from Monty Python)? Can’t wait to read more and again congratulations on a great year!

    • mzoobek January 23, 2011 at 12:29 am #

      Funny you mentioned Michael Palin- I just discovered his travel documentaries-funny enough, Sir Galahad makes quite a good travel show host… a good alternative to my beloved, but constantly flirting with too dorky, Rick Steves.

Leave a Reply

